Congress List: First list of 39 Congress candidates released!

15 names from General Category and 24 names from SC-ST announced

Congress List: First list of 39 Congress candidates released!

Congress released its first list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections on Friday evening. Former national president of the party Rahul Gandhi will contest elections again from Wayanad seat of Kerala. Whereas, MP Shashi Tharoor will contest from Thiruvananthapuram.

Before the Lok Sabha elections, Congress has also released its first list. In which names of 39 candidates have been included. Congress General Secretary KC Venugopal released the first list during a press conference. In the first list, big names like Rahul Gandhi to Wayanad, former Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel to Rajnandgaon, Shashi Tharoor to Thiruvananthapuram have been included.

Releasing the first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, KC Venugopal said that in the first list, 15 names have been included from general categories and 24 names from ST, SC and minority categories.

Rahul Gandhi
Rahul Gandhi is one of the biggest faces of Congress right now. He has assumed the command of the former national president of the party. Gandhi is currently the MP from Wayanad, Kerala. Under his leadership the party started Bharat Jodo Yatra and Bharat Jodo Nyaya Yatra. Rahul Gandhi had resigned from the post of national president after the party's poor performance in the last general elections.

Shashi Tharoor
Shashi Tharoor is currently representing the Thiruvananthapuram constituency. He is a third-time Lok Sabha MP. He has previously served as Minister of State for Human Resource Development and Minister of State for External Affairs in the Central Government. Tharoor had a career at the United Nations spanning nearly three decades. He served as Under-Secretary-General during the leadership of Kofi Annan.


Share this post

About The Author

Post Comment

Comment List

Latest News

Follow us