Journey of TMC MP joining BJP, Arjun Singh's connections are also with Bihar

Journey of TMC MP joining BJP, Arjun Singh's connections are also with Bihar
Journey of TMC MP joining BJP, Arjun Singh's connections are also with Bihar

Lok Sabha elections in the country will be announced on Saturday. All the parties are busy sharpening their strategies. Many parties have also declared their candidates. Recently Trinamool Congress announced all its 42 names for West Bengal. In this, the ticket of sitting MP Arjun Singh from Barrackpore seat was canceled. Arjun had won the elections on BJP ticket in 2019 but later changed sides. TMC leaders have once again joined BJP. He has accused Trinamool Congress of betrayal.

How has been the political journey of Arjun Singh?
Presently Arjun Singh is the Lok Sabha MP of Trinamool Congress. He is representing Barrackpore seat of West Bengal. Arjun was born in 1962 in North 24 Parganas, Bengal. Arjun has studied till 12th. He inherited politics. Singh's father Satyanarayan Singh was a veteran Congress leader who was originally from Siwan from Bihar. Satyanarayan was a three-time MLA from Bhatpara seat of North 24 Parganas district. Arjun Singh's father is said to have helped build the TMC organization in the industrial area of North 24 Parganas. Most of the voters in this area are migrants from Bihar and Uttar Pradesh.

Was TMC MLA four times
Arjun Singh was associated with Jute Mills in the initial days. He started his political innings from Congress. He won the election of councilor in Bhatpara Municipality in 1995 on Congress ticket. When Mamata Banerjee left Congress and formed Trinamool Congress, Arjun Singh also joined her party. In 1999, Mamata gave him a place in the state core committee of Trinamool Congress. Arjun remained in this post till 2019. Arjun tried his luck in the West Bengal assembly elections held in 2001 and also achieved success. Even after this, he remained TMC MLA from Bhatpara thrice.

Return to TMC before 2019 elections
Before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Arjun Singh resigned as a TMC MLA and joined the BJP. Arjun Singh, who contested from Barrackpore seat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, defeated TMC candidate Dinesh Trivedi by more than 14,000 votes.

Later BJP made Sukant Majumdar the President of Bengal BJP. It is said that under his leadership, Arjun Singh did not get recognition as per expectations. He has also been critical of the jute price policy of the Central Government.

Singh had also met BJP President JP Nadda. After this, he joined TMC in May 2022. Arjun Singh had joined the party in the presence of Abhishek Banerjee.

Why did you return to BJP now?
Recently TMC announced candidates for all 42 seats of West Bengal. The party canceled the ticket of sitting Barrackpore MP Arjun Singh and gave a chance to Minister Partha Bhowmik. After this Arjun Singh opened a front against the party and made many allegations.

On not getting the ticket from Barrackpore, Arjun Singh said that the party had betrayed him. He vowed to contest against TMC candidate Partha Bhowmik from Barrackpore seat and said he cannot disappoint the people who elected him to the Lok Sabha in 2019.

Arjun Singh also hit back at Mamata Banerjee's political stand regarding CAA. He said that I thank Prime Minister Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah for fulfilling the dreams of oppressed minorities in neighboring countries and giving them the right to citizenship. Amidst all this, on Friday Arjun Singh left TMC and joined BJP.


Share this post

About The Author

Related Posts

Post Comment

Comment List

Latest News

Follow us